WHO'S WHO?



Monitoring Committee Panel members, 2022 - 2024

Name	Role	Term
Ms Helen Maxwell-Wright AM	Chair	Term one ends Dec 2024
Ms Sarah Hyde	Chair	Term one ends Dec 2024
Dr Brian Morton AM	Nominated by AMA	Term one ends Dec 2024
Dr Rashmi Sharma AOM	Nominated by RACGP	Term one ends July 2025
Mr Paul Murdoch	Nominated by CHF	Term one ends Dec 2024
Mr John Stubbs	Nominated by CHF	Term one ends Dec 2024

Not everyone participates in a Monitoring Committee meeting. The above members are part of a panel, from whom are allocated to meetings in accordance with the requirements for meetings and quorum as set out in Section 17.3 of the Code ("Membership of the Monitoring Committee"), the nature of the material being reviewed, their availability as well as ensuring no conflicts of interests exist. In addition to these 'full' members of the Monitoring Committee, others are invited to attend on an invitational basis in accordance with the Code and the material being reviewed, such as representatives from Medicines Australia members and specialists.

Ms Helen Maxwell-Wright AM (Chair)

Helen Maxwell-Wright AM holds both executive and non-executive roles in the health and child welfare sectors. Her interests include improving health outcomes through system review and innovation, increased consumer health literacy and empowerment and good governance. Helen was awarded an AM in the Queen's Birthday Honours in 2021 for significant service to child welfare, diabetes research and the community.

Ms Sarah Hyde (Chair)

Sarah is an experienced marketer with a demonstrated history of working in the pharmaceutical and healthcare sectors. She displays strong entrepreneurship and professional skills in Strategic and Business Planning, Marketing Management, Medical Education, Sales, Market Research, and Management. For 17 years Sarah has owned and operated Strategic Healthcare Marketing (shm).

shm is a niche agency specialising in consultative advice, strategic planning and subsequent implementation of this advice. Sarah is tertiary educated in both the nursing and business fields; she bring a unique skill mix and a deep market understanding of the healthcare sector to the committee.

Dr Brian Morton AM - GP nominated by the Australian Medical Association (AMA)

Dr Brian Morton AM studied Medicine at the University of NSW and graduated in 1974. He has been a General Practitioner in Willoughby, Sydney, since 1976 and amalgamated with Northbridge Medical Practice in 2009.

In 1981 he was awarded a Fellowship of the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners. Dr Morton has been a clinical teacher in General Practice for the Universities of Sydney and Notre Dame. He is a past President of AMA (NSW) and is a past Chair of AMA Council of General Practitioners. Dr Morton is a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) and a member of the International Society of Travel Medicine (ISTM).

Dr Rashmi Sharma AOM - GP nominated by the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners

Assoc Prof Rashmi Sharma has had a varied career in GP as a practice owner, supervisor, medical educator, and holds academic title with the ANU Medical School. She has had, and continues to have, leadership roles that advocate for the vital role of General Practice within the health system. Rashmi has a long and extensive experience with health policy, especially in the field of pharmaceuticals having spent a decade as a member of PBAC and a continuing member of DUSC as well as committees for the TGA.

Mr Paul Murdoch – Consumer representative nominated by the Consumers Health Forum (CHF)

Paul has extensive experience as a senior consumer health representative over almost 20 years. He was a Director and Deputy Chair of the Australian Pain Management Association (APMA) Ltd. (2009-2021), and a Director of the Consumers Health Forum (CHF) (2015-2018). Paul has been the non-practitioner member of the PSR Determining Authority since 2018, and a community representative on the Queensland Civil and Administrative Tribunal (QCAT) since 2005. A former senior executive in the Australian Public Service who managed an independent statutory authority, his areas of interest include chronic disease, self-management, health technology assessment and preventative health.

Mr John Stubbs – Consumer representative nominated by the Consumers Health Forum (CHF)

John is a committed and passionate advocate for Australians affected by cancer and chronic disease. He holds degrees in Accounting and Arts and is a regular speaker at medical conferences in Australia and internationally about health policy, advocacy, clinical trials, clinician training, research and the benefits of consumer involvement.

He was awarded an Honorary Associate of the University of Sydney - School of Medicine in 2009 for work in the promotion of Research and Clinical Trials in Australia and a Recognition Award from the Federal Department of Health in 2011 for – "long standing commitment to advancing the quality of radiation oncology services in this country".