WHO'S WHO?



Monitoring Committee Panel members, 2025 – 2027

Name	Role	Term
Ms Helen Maxwell-Wright AM	Chair	Term two ends Dec 2027
Ms Sarah Hyde	Chair	Term two ends Dec 2027
Dr Simon Torvaldsen	Nominated by AMA	Term one ends Dec 2027
Dr Rashmi Sharma AOM	Nominated by RACGP	Term two ends Dec 2027
Mr Henry Ko	Nominated by the Australian Multicultural Health Collaborative	Term one ends Dec 2027
Mr John Stubbs AM	Nominated by ALLG	Term two ends Dec 2027

Not everyone participates in a Monitoring Committee meeting. The above members are part of a panel, from whom are allocated to meetings in accordance with the requirements for meetings and quorum as set out in Section 16.3 of the Code of Conduct Edition 20 ("Membership of the Monitoring Committee"), the nature of the material being reviewed, their availability as well as ensuring no conflicts of interests exist. In addition to these 'full' members of the Monitoring Committee, others are invited to attend on an invitational basis in accordance with the Code and the material being reviewed, such as representatives from Medicines Australia members and specialists.

Ms Helen Maxwell-Wright AM (Chair)

Helen Maxwell-Wright AM holds both executive and non-executive roles in the health and child welfare sectors. Her interests include improving health outcomes through system review and innovation, increased consumer health literacy and empowerment and good governance. Helen was awarded an AM in the Queen's Birthday Honours in 2021 for significant service to child welfare, diabetes research and the community.

Ms Sarah Hyde (Chair)

Sarah is an experienced marketer with a demonstrated history of working in the pharmaceutical and healthcare sectors. She displays strong entrepreneurship and professional skills in Strategic and Business Planning, Marketing Management, Medical Education, Sales, Market Research, and Management. For 17 years Sarah has owned and operated Strategic Healthcare Marketing (shm).

shm is a niche agency specialising in consultative advice, strategic planning and subsequent implementation of this advice. Sarah is tertiary educated in both the nursing and business fields; she bring a unique skill mix and a deep market understanding of the healthcare sector to the committee.

Dr Simon Torvaldsen - GP nominated by the Australian Medical Association (AMA)

Dr Simon Torvaldsen is a graduate of UWA and a GP practice owner in Perth. He has sat on numerous State and Federal Committees, including the TGA Medicine Shortages Working Group, the MBS Review Taskforce, and Chairing the Wound Management Working Group. He is also an advisor providing expert reports to AHPRA.

Dr Torvaldsen developed and presented policy at the highest levels. He has a strong interest in health policy and health systems. As a GP and working with the AMA and RACGP, he has a good overview and knowledge of the Australian health system. He has also had training in interpreting clinical research.

Dr Rashmi Sharma AOM - GP nominated by the Royal Australian College of General Practitioners

Assoc Prof Rashmi Sharma has had a varied career in GP as a practice owner, supervisor, medical educator, and holds academic title with the ANU Medical School. She has had, and continues to have, leadership roles that advocate for the vital role of General Practice within the health system. Rashmi has a long and extensive experience with health policy, especially in the field of pharmaceuticals having spent a decade as a member of PBAC and a continuing member of DUSC as well as committees for the TGA.

Mr Paul Murdoch – Consumer representative nominated by the Consumers Health Forum (CHF)

Paul has extensive experience as a senior consumer health representative over almost 20 years. He was a Director and Deputy Chair of the Australian Pain Management Association (APMA) Ltd. (2009-2021), and a Director of the Consumers Health Forum (CHF) (2015-2018). Paul has been the non-practitioner member of the PSR Determining Authority since 2018, and a community representative on the Queensland Civil and Administrative Tribunal (QCAT) since 2005. A former senior executive in the Australian Public Service who managed an independent statutory authority, his areas of interest include chronic disease, self-management, health technology assessment and preventative health.

Mr Henry Ko – Consumer representative nominated by the Australian Multicultural Health Collaborative

Henry Ko is a healthcare consumer advocate with a background in multidisciplinary healthcare technology and services research. Henry has worked in large public healthcare services and universities, advised government health departments and healthcare industry groups, and advocated for consumer health issues.

Henry's consumer health advocacy activities have been in multicultural health issues, cancer, thalassemia, paediatric health and allergies. He is an experienced consumer advocate, affiliated with the Consumers Health Forum of Australia since 2008, was the inaugural deputy chair of the Commonwealth Department of Health's HTA Consumer Consultative Committee, and a member of the Australian Multicultural Health Collaborative's governance council.

Mr John Stubbs AM – Consumer representative nominated by The Australasian Leukaemia and Lymphoma Group (ALLG)

John is a committed and passionate advocate for Australians affected by cancer and chronic disease. He holds degrees in Accounting and Arts and is a regular speaker at medical conferences in Australia and internationally about health policy, advocacy, clinical trials, clinician training, research and the benefits of consumer involvement.

He was awarded an Honorary Associate of the University of Sydney - School of Medicine in 2009 for work in the promotion of Research and Clinical Trials in Australia and a Recognition Award from the Federal Department of Health in 2011 for – "long standing commitment to advancing the quality of radiation oncology services in this country".