Award winners recognised in pharmaceutical industry education course

4 May 2022: Winners from across Australia’s pharmaceutical industry have been announced for the Medicines Australia Continuing Education Program (CEP) Awards. The CEP Awards recognise individuals who have shown an exceptional understanding of the importance of upholding the highest standards of ethical conduct and integrity.

Medicines Australia CEO, Elizabeth de Somer, said the CEP Awards recognised the hard work and achievements of students who completed the online course last year through the University of Tasmania (UTAS).

“The award winners for 2021 are a strong example of the pharmaceutical industry’s commitment to training and supporting medical representatives, who play an integral role in being a key contact between pharmaceutical companies and healthcare professionals.

“Congratulations to the Award recipients who have been duly recognised for their exceptional dedication in completing the 2021 CEP course. Their combined knowledge will be an asset to their organisations and to our health system as a whole,” Ms de Somer said.

The CEP course educates pharmaceutical company representatives to a high ethical standard so they can provide healthcare professionals with accurate, balanced information to support the quality use of medicines.

The Awards include the UTAS Prize for Excellence Award, the Code of Conduct Award and the CEP Achievement Award.

Rachael Bevan, recipient of the Code of Conduct Award, said “It was a lovely surprise to receive this award, as this is my first role in industry, and my first time undertaking the course. I was fortunate to take a lot away from Program 1 – in particular, it was really valuable to reflect on each module and consider its application in my work. It has given me the opportunity to consolidate my knowledge of the Code and confidently implement its principles in my day-to-day activities.”

Medicines Australia congratulates the following award winners;

Rachael Bevan – Code of Conduct Award (2021)

Rachael, employed by Biogen Australia, achieved the highest mark for Program 1 (The Medicines Australia Code of Conduct).

Daniella Samaila, of GSK, and Samantha Wicks, of AstraZeneca – won the University of Tasmania Prize for Excellence Award (Semesters 1 and 2 respectively)

The following 10 students won a 2021 CEP Achievement Award, achieving the 10 highest aggregate marks for the majority of the core programs:

  • Abraam Gerguis, Eli Lilly, formerly of FarmaForce
  • Christopher Lems, Boehringer Ingelheim
  • Claudio Sadek, Bayer
  • Daniella Samaila, GSK
  • Jess De Laurent, Hahn Healthcare
  • Juanita Kidd, Allergan Australia
  • Madeline Rapisardi, formerly of Novartis
  • Manjit Singh, Bayer, formerly of iNova Pharmaceuticals
  • Megan Jefferys, AstraZeneca, and
  • Nikki Pride, AstraZeneca .

The CEP Program is offered online through the University of Tasmania, with 2022 Semester One enrolment closing on 6 May 2022. Awards for the 2022 CEP Program will be announced in early 2023. More on the CEP program is on the Medicines Australia website, along with information about the Award specifics.

A video which features some of the Award winners is available here. Photos of some of the Award Winners can be downloaded here.


For further information or media interviews, please contact:
Chrystianna Moran – 0424 995 118 /
John Flannery – 0419 494 761 /