Medicines Australia Advisory Council

The Medicines Australia Advisory Council provides advice to the Board on trends and issues impacting the pharmaceutical industry in the medium to long term to support the Board’s role in shaping strategy.

The Advisory Council offers a strategic and diverse perspective of the environment with a view to positively shaping the future of the industry. This includes:

> Consideration of domestic and international factors that will impact on the industry and its members over the next 5-10 years such as demographic, political, social, economic, technological, scientific, regulatory and legislative.

>Identifying relevant, prioritised and strategic issues – risks, opportunities and trends – that may inform Australia’s industry, health and medicines policy and may impact Medicines Australia and its members.

>Identifying potential options that will enable Medicines Australia to positively shape the operating environment.

The Council meets several times throughout the year and is chaired by a Director of the Medicines Australia Board. It is guided in its work by direction from the Board.

Established in 2017, the Council comprises 8-10 individuals appointed on a skills-based matrix and includes one representative currently employed by a member organisation. 

Current Advisory Council members

Mr Patrick Desbiens, Senior Vice-President & General Manager, Australia & New Zealand GSK (Chair)

Mr Greg Allen, FCHSM, CHE, Finance Manager, Epworth Freemasons Hospital

Ms Glenys Beauchamp PSM

Dr Leigh Farrell, FAICD, Executive Advisor to Certara C-Suite

Ms Renae Beardmore BPharm, MBA, MPS, GAICD, Managing Director EvoHealth

Mr Richard Vines, Founder and Chair of Rare Cancers Australia

Ms Tamara Dawson B.Com, B.A, Founder of the Melanoma & Skin Cancer Advocacy Network (MSCAN)

Mr Sergio Duchini FTA CTA GAICD, Non-Executive Director Enlitic

Ms Anne-Marie Perret GAICD, Governance Adviser & Board Director

Dr Kathryn Evans Dip. Pharm., M.B.A., Doctor of Bus. Admin., GAICD, Managing Director of BioMarin Pharmaceutical Australia