Medicines Australia Announces 2019-2020 Board

Medicines Australia Chair, Dr Anna Lavelle, was pleased to announce the appointment of the new Board of Medicines Australia at the association’s Annual General Meeting in Sydney today (see list below).

Dr Lavelle welcomed the new Board members as they take on the important leadership role for the association.

“I am delighted to welcome the incoming Medicines Australia Board. The significant interest shown by so many managing directors in nominating to the Board is testament to the commitment our members have to the industry.  I am looking forward to their contribution to the strategic direction of both Medicines Australia and the Australian pharmaceutical industry,” said Dr Lavelle

In welcoming the new Board, Dr Lavelle also thanked the outgoing board members for their commitment to the innovative medicines industry.

“Medicines Australia has benefited greatly from the knowledge, leadership and support of outgoing board members, some of who have committed many years to developing and delivering on critical industry objectives,” said Dr Lavelle

“In particular, I would like to thank and acknowledge former Chair, Mr Wes Cook Managing Director of Boehringer Ingelheim, Australia. Wes was instrumental in delivering the Medicines Australia Strategic Agreement with the Commonwealth in 2017 and took the helm of the organisation at a critical time.

Under his leadership, we have achieved an historic level of industry stability and collaboration with government on policy reforms.

“I would also like to recognise the leadership of Ms Kirsten O’Doherty, Managing Director of AbbVie, who was one of the founding members of PAGE (now PAIG), an example of the sector’s leadership in gender equality, diversity and inclusion.

“I also thank and acknowledge the contributions of Brad Edwards, Managing Director of Shire, who sat for a number of years on the Board and Governance sub-committee and My Linh Kha, Managing Director of Amgen, who joined the Board last year and has recently been appointed to lead her organisation in China, said Dr Lavelle

The new elected Directors to the Medicines Australia Board announced at today’s Annual General Meeting will serve for three years until October 2022.

“It is one of the strengths of the industry that we have extraordinarily dedicated individuals, and our incoming board is no exception,” concluded Dr Lavelle.

2019-2022 Elected Directors to the Board of Medicines Australia

Liz ChatwinAstraZeneca Pty Ltd
Chris StempleBiogen Australia Pty Ltd
Neil MacGregorBristol-Myers Squibb Australia Pty Ltd
Christi KelseyGlaxoSmithKline Australia Pty Ltd
Bruce GoodwinJanssen-Cilag Pty Limited
Leah GoodmanMerck Healthcare Pty Ltd
Michael AzrakMerck Sharp & Dohme (Australia) Pty Ltd
Melissa McGregorPfizer Australia Pty Ltd
Stuart KnightRoche Products Pty Limited
James McDonnell
Vifor Pharma Pty Ltd


More information: Natalie Wimmer – Media and Communications Manager – Medicines Australia 0450728660