Top award for Medicines Australia chairman

Medicines Australia chairman Will Delaat has been named the 2009 winner of the Pat Clear Award, the pharmaceutical industry’s most prestigious award.

The Award was presented to Mr Delaat at Medicines Australia’s Annual General Meeting today.

The Pat Clear Award is the innovative pharmaceutical industry’s most coveted award. It is presented annually to recognise an outstanding level of commitment by an individual, group or team for the benefit of the Australian pharmaceutical industry.

Mr Delaat has been an active member of the Medicines Australia Board for the past 12 years, as chairman, deputy-chairman and director. He also served as managing director of Merck Sharp & Dohme Australia for 11 years before retiring in 2008.

He is the co-chair of the Industry-Government Access to Medicines Working Group, and chair of the Pharmaceuticals Industry Council.

In 2008 Mr Delaat was a member of the Pharmaceuticals Industry Strategy Group which was established by the Government to develop a plan to attract investment in R&D, clinical trials and manufacturing activity in Australia.

Medicines Australia’s acting chief executive Brendan Shaw congratulated Mr Delaat and said the Award was richly deserved.

“Will has made an extraordinary contribution to the pharmaceutical industry in Australia over 35 years,” Dr Shaw said.

“His leadership and vision for Australia’s pharmaceutical industry is well recognised by those in industry, government, the health sector and the wider community.

“Will has been instrumental in driving significant policy changes that have improved the commercial environment for the innovative pharmaceutical industry in Australia.

“He has been a long-time champion for the industry and this award is a well-deserved recognition of this.”

The Pat Clear Award was established in 2002 to commemorate the substantial contribution Mr Clear made to the pharmaceutical industry in Australia in an illustrious career which spanned 40 years.


Contact Person:

Jamie Nicholson
Media Communications Manager
Phone: 0419 220 293