Award winners recognised

CEP Award Winners for 2020

13 December 2021: Winners from across the Australian healthcare system have been announced for the Medicines Australia Continuing Education Program (CEP) Awards.

The CEP Awards recognises individuals who were the standout, star students of the 2020 CEP course, which saw a record number of students complete the online course through the University of Tasmania.

“My warm congratulations to the Award recipients who have shown an exceptional understanding of the importance of upholding the highest standards of ethical conduct, integrity and best practice. Their newfound knowledge will be an asset to their respective organisations and ultimately, to the patient community,” said Sophie Hibburd, Head of Ethics and Compliance at Medicines Australia

“The CEP courses were updated to reflect the new Code of Conduct, which can into effect in March last year. The 19th edition of the Code was completely updated to be more agile and flexible and so to, did the revised CEP courses, which saw a record number of completions in 2020,” she added.

Nicole Chen, recipient of the Code of Conduct Award, said “the award means a lot as I was new to the pharmaceutical industry. I very much enjoyed going through the online program which combined a mix of theory, case studies and quizzes to test my knowledge. This helped me gain the knowledge and skills needed as a marketing professional to confidently undertake my responsibilities at work.”

Medicines Australia congratulates the following award winners;

Nicole Chen – Code of Conduct Award (2020)

Nicole, employed by Eli Lilly Australia, achieved the highest mark for Program 1 (The Medicines Australia Code of Conduct).

Francis Shand, of AbbVie, and Aleksandar Jakovljevic, of Allergan Australia – won the University of Tasmania Excellence Award (Semesters 1 and 2 respectively)

The following 10 students won a CEP Achievement Award, achieving the 10 highest aggregate marks for the majority of the core programs:

  • Jessica Wu, currently of GSK Australia, formerly of Hahn Healthcare
  • Nicola Barwald, Boehringer Ingelheim
  • Erryn Tomkins, formerly of Mundipharma
  • Aleksandar Jakovljevic, Allergan Australia
  • Joshua Ward, AstraZeneca
  • Colin Eves, GSK Australia
  • Dylan Wan, Bayer Pharmaceuticals
  • Kiran Munde, Hahn Healthcare
  • Matt Crum, Pfizer Australia, and
  • Louise Welsh, GSK Australia

While an in-person CEP Awards Ceremony was cancelled due to extended lockdowns, this doesn’t diminish the award recipients’ achievements. Awards for the 2021 CEP Program will be announced in early 2022.

The Medicines Australia CEP Program educates medical representatives to a recognised high industry ethical standard. The Program is offered online through the University of Tasmania, with 2022 Semester One enrolments opening on 10 January.

More on the CEP program is on the Medicines Australia website.


For media enquiries and interview opportunities, please contact:
Chrystianna Moran – 0424 995 118 /