Ethics awards for pharmaceutical representatives

Fourteen medical sales representatives from the Australian medicines industry received the sector’s top accolade for ethical sales and marketing at a ceremony in Sydney last night.

The Medicines Australia Continuing Education Program Awards are presented annually to sales representatives who achieve the best marks in their compulsory ethics education program.

Medicines Australia chief executive Dr Brendan Shaw said the mandatory program, delivered by Medicines Australia and the University of Tasmania, demonstrated the medicines industry’s commitment to ethical conduct.

“Medical sales representatives play a critical role in helping doctors keep abreast of the latest information and ensure patients ultimately get the best out of the medicines that are available today,” Dr Shaw said.

“Representatives are a key tool in ensuring that the dialogue between the companies who make the medicines and the doctors that prescribe them is productive, balanced and ethical.

“The continuing education program ensures medical representatives are educated to a recognised industry standard to provide healthcare professionals with accurate and balanced information.

“I congratulate all students who completed the course and in particular the award winners.

“The fact that so many students have been recognised for their high achievement in this program signals the importance that students and companies attach to ethical conduct.”

The Medicines Australia Code of Conduct Award, for full marks in the Code of Conduct Program, was presented to Wendy Carrol (Sanofi).

The Medicines Australia CEP Achievement Awards went to: Margaret de Jong (AstraZeneca), Kristen Viero (AstraZeneca), Lucy Nicholson (AstraZeneca), Natalie McLean (Mundipharma), Neil Stilgoe (Boehringer Ingelheim), Maria Lizbeth Piedad (MSD), Carla Silvestri (MSD), Martin Kelly (Novartis), Laurent Wieher (Abbott), Sean Lim (Pfizer).

The Active Learning Awards for the most active and best quality participation in online student group discussion were presented to Joanne Campbell (Novartis) and Kimberly Varga (Amgen).


Contact Person:

Jamie Nicholson
Media Communications Manager
Phone: 0419 220 293