Medicines Australia announces industry award winner

The 2007 Pat Clear Award has been won by Michelle Burke, Director of External Affairs of Bristol-Myers Squibb.

The award was presented to Ms Burke at the Medicines Australia AGM in Sydney this afternoon.

The Pat Clear Award is the innovative pharmaceutical industry’s most prestigious award. It is presented annually to recognise an outstanding level of commitment by individuals, groups or teams for the benefit of the Australian pharmaceutical industry.

Ms Burke chaired the Medicines Australia PBS Reform Implementation Group (PRIG), playing a major role in ensuring that the industry participated fully in the bedding-down of the PBS reforms.

She is also a chair of the Medicines Australia’s Access Committee.

Medicines Australia chief executive Ian Chalmers said Ms Burke’s award was richly deserved.

“Michelle deserves the highest praise for this achievement,” Mr Chalmers said.

“Without her leadership of PRIG, the industry would not have been so well placed to take up important issues during the implementation process for an initiative that will change the face of the industry over time.”

The Pat Clear Award was established in 2002 to commemorate the contribution that Mr Clear made to the pharmaceutical industry in Australia.

Contact Person:

Jamie Nicholson
Media Communications Manager
Phone: 0419 220 293