Medicines industry wins equal opportunity awards

Medicines Australia chief executive Dr Brendan Shaw has congratulated two of Australia’s leading medicines manufacturers on winning the 2011 Business Achievement Awards, an initiative of the Equal Opportunity for Women in the Workplace Agency.

CSL won the Minister’s Award for Outstanding EEO Initiative/Result for the Advancement of Women.

GlaxoSmithKline vice-president and general manager Deborah Waterhouse, a Medicines Australia Board member, won the EOWA Director’s Award for an individual.

Dr Shaw said the awards demonstrate the medicines industry’s commitment to promoting equal opportunity for women in the workplace.

“I congratulate both of these companies on winning these important awards,” Dr Shaw said.

“Their recognition is richly deserved. CSL and GlaxoSmithKline are two companies with a strong track record in fostering gender equity, reflective of the broader medicines industry’s commitment to equal opportunity for women.

“The success of these companies reflects an industry culture that is inclusive, just and alert to the importance of encouraging workplace diversity.

“These awards send a strong signal that The Australian Medicines Industry is a great place to work.

“So now, as well as being a manufacturing industry that is innovative, high skill, high wage, carbon efficient and a leading exporter, the medicines industry has also shown its credentials as an equal opportunity employer where both men and women can enjoy working in skilled, high wage jobs.”

Dr Shaw also congratulated a third manufacturer, AMGEN, which was nominated as a finalist for the Leading Organisation for the Advancement of Women (<800 employees) Award.

For further information about the EOWA Business Achievement Awards, contact: Vanessa Crago on (02) 9448 8500 or Jude McGee on (02) 9448 8500


Contact Person:

Jamie Nicholson
Media Communications Manager
Phone: 0419 220 293