Medicines industry wins nominations for Equal Opportunity for Women Awards

Medicines Australia chief executive Dr Brendan Shaw today congratulated AMGEN, CSL and GlaxoSmithKline on their nominations as finalists for the 2011 Business Achievement Awards conducted by the Equal Opportunity for Women in the Workplace Agency.

Dr Shaw said the nominations reflected the importance The Australian Medicines Industry attaches to fostering equal opportunity and particularly gender equality in the workplace.

“There are significant commercial advantages in encouraging diversity in the workplace and The Australian Medicines Industry has a strong tradition in this regard,” Dr Shaw said.

“The fact that three of Medicines Australia’s member companies have been nominated for an award reflects a cultural commitment to gender equality and providing career pathways to women.

“These nominations are testament to The Australian Medicines Industry as a great place to work, and an industry that values equity of opportunity.”

Deborah Waterhouse, vice president and general manager of GlaxoSmithKline and a Board member of Medicines Australia, has been nominated for the Leading CEO for the Advancement of Women Award.

AMGEN has been nominated for the Leading Organisation for the Advancement of Women (<800 employees) Award.

CSL has been nominated for the Minister’s Award for Outstanding EEO Initiative/Result for the Advancement of Women.

The winners will be announced on 9 November.

For further information about the EOWA Business Achievement Awards, contact: Vanessa Crago on (02) 9448 8500 or Jude McGee on (02) 9448 8500


Contact Person:

Jamie Nicholson
Media Communications Manager
Phone: 0419 220 293